Life n Choices 16 – Isaacola AA

imagesEpisode 15 here
http://wp.me/p333v9-iG

IMPATIENCE
 
“The wisest are the most annoyed at the lost of time”. Dante Alighieri
 
“Impatience can cause wise people to do foolish things”. Janette Oke
 
The common man prays, ”I want a cookie right now!” and God responds, if you will listen to what I say, tomorrow I will bring you 100 cookies. Criss Jami
 
…” Impatience in itself is like a noiseless noise”. Hillary Thayer Hamman
 
What good has impatience ever brought? It has only served as the mother of mistakes and father of irritation. Steve Maraboli
 
“Laziness acknowledges the relation of the present to the past, but ignores its relation to the future; impatience acknowledges its relation to the future but ignores its relation to the past; neither the lazy nor the impatient man, that is, accepts the present instant in its full reality and so cannot love his neighbour completely”. W H Auden
 
“When we get impatient because something is taking too long, we should remember that life waits on us a thousand times more than we wait on life”. Laura Teresa Marquez
 
“They speak foolishly who ascribe their anger or their impatience to such as offend them or to tribulations. Tribulations does not make people impatient, but proves that they are impatient. So everyone may learn from tribulations how his heart is constituted”. Martin Luther
 
Impatience; I won’t state the dictionary or Wikipedia definition, but I will describe it using an experience I had some time ago.
impatience_zpsff8caf39

As quoted above, impatience make wise people behave or look like fools. I drove from Akure in Ondo State to Lagos, with my family in the car. Few minutes after I arrived safely in Lagos, my car was dented by a reckless semi-truck driver due to lack of patience on his and my side. I was ready to drag it and prove a point of my rightness until the import of my action exposes my lack of patience leading to wasting precious time and money to remedy what a minute or two patience would have avoided.
 
images_2

Impatience is a character flaw that must be dealt before it brings a public disgrace. It turn your rightness into wrong if care is not taken.
 

As I temporarily bring “Life n Choices” series to an end, I want to admonish all my ardent readers to look inward and deal with impatience before it makes a stain on our garment of righteousness.
 
Special thanks to Taiwo Marayesa, Dako Temitope Alice (@emini_ANOTI), Seye Babalola (@oscarpoems) and Tomisin Ajiboye (@tomisinajiboye) for their contributions. I appreciate all your effort. And to you reading this; I love you all and wish you all the best.
 
Isaacola AA
@newnaija

10 Replies to “Life n Choices 16 – Isaacola AA”

  1. Thanks so much for this. Patience truly is a virtue, giving us time to go through our individual processes. Impatience has its many ills as you mentioned in your post. One more is that it makes us bad negotiators, giving up our birth right for porridge like Esau did. May God help us!

    Like

  2. One of d greatest writeup I’ve ever read…we should keep dis as a daily reminder…Wonderful writeup Mr. Isaac…

    Like

Your comments are welcomed and appreciated

