Faith Series II- @emini_ANOTI

KEEPING THE FAITH

2nd Timothy 4 vs 3-4: For the time will come when people will not put up with sound doctrines. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truths and turn to myths.

I was in church yesterday with my mind not really there. I had major issues bothering me that I wish there were instant solutions to. I’d been praying and I wanted to get answers so bad. I started reminding God about the numerous promises in the bible to provide for my needs. All the verses about transferring the wealth of the gentiles to the faithful, knock and it shall be opened, God shall supply all my needs according to His riches and more were always on my lips.

I was so worried about the stuffs happening to me that even when I was in church, I decided to tune out the word of God and keep asking for answers. With half-mind, I sang the worship songs and danced. At a point, I started singing because I felt, God opens doors when we worship.

I allowed my worldly desires to overrule my real purpose on earth, “worshipping God”. When the sermon started, I was still in the same state but the preacher said something that caught my attention. I listened to her talk about Job like I’ve never heard the story before and all the martyrs who still believed God despite the danger they were in. It was then God said to me “Alice, if you fail this course because I refused to provide you with a new system, will you still worship me?”

I could not breath. My immediate response was to protest and remind God of all the beautiful things He has promised me. God knowing our thoughts even before they were formed asked me again “Alice, if I refuse to provide the money you need for a new system, will you still worship me? Will you love me still?”

I became quiet and started thinking of what God just said to me. I started picturing my reactions if I had to carry the course over. I was about to remind God of all those wonderful sweet promises in the bible that I shall be the head and not the tail, that those that love the Lord will do exploits and all of that when Job came to my mind. I started picturing Job as a very wealthy man probably the richest man in his town then, number one on the Forbes list. He had beautiful kids and wife and he was the envy of the whole town.

Suddenly, everything went away. He was stripped of everything he has and even his good health too. Job was going through emotional and physical pains, yet he never denied God. He stood and declared even in the awful and painful situation he was in that “His redeemer lives”.

His terrible situation did not deter him from sticking to his faith. Job was faithful to the end and God rewarded him with double of everything he had lost.

Then, I begin to ask myself, have I not turned away from God because I was endeared by the sweet promises in the bible? Have I not lost myself in seeking material things and fulfilling worldly desires that I had forgotten to seek God’s kingdom and His righteousness first? Maybe things are not working out because I do not love the Lord enough but the things I want to get from Him?

Rather than search for God’s heart, have I not decided to look for His hands? Do I even know God enough to love him and worship Him when I do not have everything I need or when things are not going right. Have I not built counsels around me based on the foolishness of man to suit those situations I’m going through, to suit what my heart wants to hear and not what it needs to hear?

I was broken within me that I could not even be bold enough to say, Yes Lord, I’ll worship you even more. Immediately, I said “Have mercy Lord. Even beyond my desires and selfishness, let Your will be done in my life. Only Your will”.

But seek ye FIRST the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness and ALL these things shall be added unto you (Mathew 6: 25-33). What do you want more; the presence of God dwelling with you or His blessing? His Love or His gifts? And we all know that God works for the good of those that love the Lord (Romans 8 vs 28). God says in proverbs 8 vs 17 that “I love those who love me and those who seek me, find me”.

@emini_ANOTI

PS
Join the LA family where we study and live by the word. Thelafamily.org/labs. You will never regret it.

Isaacola AA
@newnaija

One Reply to “Faith Series II- @emini_ANOTI”

Your comments are welcomed and appreciated

